The Passionate Pilgrim cover

The Passionate Pilgrim

William Shakespeare (1564-1616)

1. 01 – When My Love Swears
2. 02 – Two Loves I Have
3. 03 – Did Not the Heavenly Rhetoric of Thine Eye
4. 04 – Sweet Cytheria Sitting By a Brook
5. 05 – If Love Make me Foresworn
6. 06 – Scarce Had the Sun Dried Up the Dewy Morn
7. 07 – Fair is My Love
8. 08 – If Music and Sweet Poetry
9. 09 – Fair Was the Morn
10. 10 – Sweet Rose Fair Flower
11. 11 – Venus With Young Adonis
12. 12 – Crabbed Age and Youth
13. 13 – Beauty is but a Vain and Doubtful Good
14. 14 – Good Night Good Rest
15. 15 – Lord How Mine Eyes Throw Gazes to the East

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



The Passionate Pilgrim was published by William Jaggard, later the publisher of Shakespeare’s First Folio. The first edition survives only in a single fragmentary copy; its date cannot be fixed with certainty since its title page is missing, though many scholars judge it likely to be from 1599, the year the second edition appeared with the attribution to Shakespeare.This version of The Passionate Pilgrim, contains 15 romantic sonnets and short poems. The works contained, while disputed as to authorship are in this writer’s most humble opinion, among the best of the age.