Mary Louise cover

Mary Louise

L. Frank Baum (1856-1919)

1. 00 – Publisher’s Note
2. 01 – Just an Argument
3. 02 – Gran’pa Jim
4. 03 – A Surprise
5. 04 – Shifting Sands
6. 05 – Official Investigation
7. 06 – Under a Cloud
8. 07 – The Escape
9. 08 – A Friendly Foe
10. 09 – Officer O’Gorman
11. 10 – Rather Queer Indeed
12. 11 – Mary Louise Meets Irene
13. 12 – A Cheerful Comrade
14. 13 – Bub Succumbs to Force
15. 14 – A Call from Agatha Lord
16. 15 – Bub’s Hobby
17. 16 – The Stolen Book
18. 17 – The Hired Girl
19. 18 – Mary Louise Grows Suspicious
20. 19 – An Artful Confession
21. 20 – Diamond Cut Diamond
22. 21 – Bad News
23. 22 – The Folks at Bigbee’s
24. 23 – A Kiss from Josie
25. 24 – Facing the Truth
26. 25 – Simple Justice
27. 26 – The Letter

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


The Bluebird Books is a series of novels popular with teenage girls in the 1910s and 1920s. The series was begun by L. Frank Baum using his Edith Van Dyne pseudonym, then continued by at least three others, all using the same pseudonym. Baum wrote the first four books in the series, possibly with help from his son, Harry Neal Baum, on the third.The books are concerned with adolescent girl detectives— a concept Baum had experimented with earlier, in The Daring Twins (1911) and Phoebe Daring (1912). The Bluebird series began with Mary Louise, originally written as a tribute to Baum’s favorite sister, Mary Louise Baum Brewster. Baum’s publisher, Reilly & Britton, rejected that manuscript, apparently judging the heroine too independent. Baum wrote a new version of the book; the original manuscript is lost.The title character is Mary Louise Burrows. In the first books of the series, she is a fifteen-year-old girl with unusual maturity (though the other girls in her boarding school find her somewhat priggish). She is suddenly confronted with the fact that her beloved grandfather is suspected of no less a crime than treason against the United States. With the help of old and new friends of Mary Louise … the truth is uncovered. The novel features a federal agent named John O’Gorman; he is assisted by his daughter Josie, a young woman he has himself trained to function as an investigator. (The Josie O’Gorman character, despite preceding Nancy Drew by more than a decade, is much less traditionally feminine.)



- Mary louise

A fun adventure story to listen to while you cross stitch!


- Mary Louise

Sweet little story, quite fun.


- Mary-Louise

Not a deep book, just a little light entertainment, well narrated.


- Review

This was a fun book. Quite different then his other series but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Narration was very well done.


- Review

I really enjoyed this book. Sevilla did a wonderful job of narrating it. Now onto the next of the series! :0)