Cranford (version 2) cover

Cranford (version 2)

Elizabeth Gaskell (1810-1865)

1. Preface
2. Chapter 1 - Our Society
3. Chapter 2 - The Captain
4. Chapter 3 - A Love Affair of Long Ago
5. Chapter 4 - Visit to an Old Bachelor
6. Chapter 5 - Old Letters
7. Chapter 6 - Poor Peter
8. Chapter 7 - Visiting
9. Chapter 8 - Your Ladyship
10. Chapter 9 - Signor Brunoni
11. Chapter 10 - The Panic
12. Chapter 11 - Samuel Brown
13. Chapter 12 - Engaged to Be Married
14. Chapter 13 - Stopped Payment
15. Chapter 14 - Friends in Need
16. Chapter 15 - A Happy Return
17. Chapter 16 - Peace to Cranford
18. The Cage at Cranford

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Cranford is set in a small market town populated largely by a number of respectable ladies. It tells of their secrets and foibles, their gossip and their romances as they face the challenges of dealing with new inhabitants to their society and innovations to their settled existence. It was first published between 1851 and 1853 as episodes in Charles Dickens’ Journal Household Words. Appended to this recording is a short sequel, The Cage at Cranford, written ten years later and published in the journal All the Year Round. In a letter to Mrs. Gaskell, Charlotte Bronte wrote: “Thank you for your letter, it was as pleasant as a quiet chat, as welcome as spring showers, as reviving as a friend’s visit; in short, it was very like a page of Cranford.”... Cranford is a genteel and humorous look at Victorian society by Elizabeth Gaskell, and is quite a change from her more gritty novels like Mary Barton or North and South.