Study In Scarlet (Version 6) cover

Study In Scarlet (Version 6)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930)

1. Mr Sherlock Holmes
2. The Science of Deduction
3. The Lauriston Garden Mystery
4. What John Rance Had to Tell
5. Our Advertisement Brings A Visitor
6. Tobias Gregson Shows What He Can Do
7. Light In the Darkness
8. On The Great Alkali Plain
9. The Flower of Utah
10. John Ferrier Talks With the Prophet
11. A Flight For Life
12. The Avenging Angels
13. A Continuation of the Reminiscences of John Watson MD
14. The Conclusion

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


A Study in Scarlet is a detective mystery novel written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, introducing his new characters, "consulting detective" Sherlock Holmes and his friend and chronicler, Dr. John Watson, who later became two of the most famous characters in literature. Conan Doyle wrote the story in 1886, and it was published the following year. The book's title derives from a speech given by Holmes to Doctor Watson on the nature of his work, in which he describes the story's murder investigation as his "study in scarlet": "There's the scarlet thread of murder running through the colourless skein of life, and our duty is to unravel it, and isolate it, and expose every inch of it." (A "study" is a preliminary drawing, sketch or painting done in preparation for a finished piece.)