Tom Brown's School Days cover

Tom Brown's School Days

Thomas Hughes (1822-1896)

1. 01 – Pt.1 Ch.1 The Brown Family
2. 02 – Pt.1 Ch.2 The Veast
3. 03 – Pt.1 Ch.3 Sundry Wars and Alliances
4. 04 – Pt.1 Ch.4 The Stage Coach
5. 05 – Pt.1 Ch.5 Rugby and Football
6. 06 – Pt.1 Ch.6 After the Match
7. 07 – Pt.1 Ch.7 Settling to the Collar
8. 08 – Pt 1 Ch 8 The War of Independence
9. 09 – Pt.1 Ch.9 A Chapter of Accidents
10. 10 – Pt.2 Ch.1 How the Tide Turned
11. 11 – Pt.2 Ch.2 The New Boy
12. 12 – Pt.2 Ch.3 Arthur Makes a Friend
13. 13 – Pt.2 Ch.4 The Bird-Fanciers
14. 14 – Pt.2 Ch.5 The Fight
15. 15 – Pt.2 Ch.6 Fever in the School
16. 16 – Pt.2 Ch.7 Harry East’s Dilemmas and Deliverances
17. 17 – Pt.2 Ch.8 Tom Brown’s Last Match
18. 18 – Pt.2 Ch.9 Finis

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Tom Brown’s Schooldays is a novel by Thomas Hughes first published in 1857. The story is set at Rugby School, a public school for boys, in the 1830s. Hughes attended Rugby School from 1834 to 1842.The novel was originally published as being “by an Old Boy of Rugby”, and much of it is based on the author’s experiences. Tom Brown is largely based on the author’s brother, George Hughes; and George Arthur, another of the book’s main characters, is based on Arthur Penrhyn Stanley. The fictional Tom’s life also resembles the author’s in that the culminating event of his school career was a cricket match.Tom Brown was tremendously influential on the genre of British school novels, which began in the 19th century, and is one of the few still in print. A sequel, Tom Brown at Oxford, was published in 1861 but is not as well known.