Wonder Clock cover

Wonder Clock

Howard Pyle (1853-1911)

1. Preface and Bearskin
2. The Water of Life
3. How One Turned his Trouble to Some Account
4. How Three Went out into the Wide World
5. The Clever Student and the Master of Black Arts
6. The Princess Golden Hair and the Great Black Raven
7. Cousin Greylegs, the Red Fox, and Grandfather Mole
8. One Good Turn Deserves Another
9. The White Bird
10. How The Good Gifts were Used by Two
11. How Boots Befooled the King
12. The Step-mother
13. Master Jacob
14. Peterkin and the Little Grey Hare
15. Mother Hildegarde
16. Which is Best
17. The Simpleton and his Little Black Hen
18. The Swan Maiden
19. The Three Little Pigs and the Ogre
20. The Staff and the Fiddle
21. How the Princess's Pride was Broken
22. How Two Went into Partnership
23. King Stork
24. The Best that Life has to Give

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


"Four and twenty marvellous tales, one for each hour of the day," retold in a novel and entertaining manner by a master of the form. While drawing on German, English, and Scandinavian folk literature for many of his characters and plots, Pyle reworks the material in an imaginative way, crafting the tales in his own inimitable style. Equally engaging are the numerous woodcuts that accompany the stories and enliven the narrative. Read along and see the illustrations