Sword of Deborah cover

#1 - I. A.B.C, II. The Fever Chart of War

Sword of Deborah

Download I. A.B.C, II. The Fever Chart of War audio
Download III. Backgrounds, IV. My First Convoy audio
Download V. Outposts; Vi Waacs, VI. Rumours and Realities audio
Download VII. The Brown Graves, VIII. Vignettes audio
Download IX. Evening, X. Night audio
Download XI. "And the Bright Eyes of Danger", XII. Rest audio
Download XIII. General Servants and a General Question, XIV. Notes and Queries audio
(*) AudioAZ.com will continuously save your listening progress. Bookmark, return to this page and continue where you left off.

Genre (s)

Author (s)


"The Sword of Deborah" contains the reflections of a woman journalist visiting women working behind the lines in France during World War I. She writes: "I was glad to have seen all the different convoys I had, because no two had been to me alike, and to each I am indebted for a differing expression of the same vision, which is the vision splendid of a duty undertaken gladly and sustained with courage. From my first convoys -- the Fannies and the G.S.V.A.D.'s -- I got the wonderful facts of it, at the V.A.D. Convoy at E---- I caught that side of it which I as most glad of all to encounter, and at the V.A.D. Convoy at T----- I found that delightful spirit of sheer joy in danger which is too precious to be allowed to die out of the world just because there happens to be, at present, such a great deal too much danger let loose upon it." (Summary by MaryAnn)

You are listening Sword of Deborah audio by F. Tennyson Jesse.
Dont forget to share if you like it.
If there is a problem or copyright issue. Let us know by sending the link of this page to email: report@audioaz.com.

Related audiobooks