The Seagull cover

The Seagull

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904)

1. 0 – Dramatis Personae
2. 1 – Act I
3. 2 – Act II
4. 3 – Act III
5. 4 – Act IV

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


The Seagull (Russian: Чайка, Chayka) is the first of what are generally considered to be the four major plays by the Russian dramatist Anton Chekhov. The play was written in 1895 and first produced in 1896. It dramatises the romantic and artistic conflicts between four characters: the ingenue Nina, the fading leading lady Irina Arkadina, her son the experimental playwright Konstantin Treplyov, and the famous middlebrow story writer Trigorin.