Portent cover


George MacDonald (1824-1905)

1. Preface
2. Chapter 1: My Boyhood
3. Chapter 2: The Second Hearing
4. Chapter 3: My Old Nurse's Story
5. Chapter 4: Hilton Hall
6. Chapter 5: Lady Alice
7. Chapter 6: My Quarters
8. Chapter 7: The Library
9. Chapter 8: The Somnambulist
10. Chapter 9: The First Waking
11. Chapter 10: Love and Power
12. Chapter 11: A New Pupil
13. Chapter 12: Confession
14. Chapter 13: Questioning
15. Chapter 14: Jealousy
16. Chapter 15: The Chamber of Ghosts
17. Chapter 16: The Clanking Shoe
18. Chapter 17: The Physician
19. Chapter 18: Old Friends
20. Chapter 19: Old Constancy
21. Chapter 20: Margaret
22. Chapter 21: Hilton
23. Chapter 22: The Sleeper
24. Chapter 23: My Old Room
25. Chapter 24: Prison-Breaking
26. Chapter 25: New Entrenchments
27. Chapter 26: Escape
28. Chapter 27: Freedom

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    Overshadowed by the dark legend of the murderous rider of the horse with the loose shoe, Duncan Campbell sets out from his home in the Highlands to make his fortune in the world. When he finds the woman whose destiny is mingled with his, he must overcome first her indifference, then the malice of her family, then the forces of space and time. Will he ever put to rest the old curse? George MacDonald was an influence on many famous fantasy writers, including C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, and Madeleine L'Engle. This fantasy romance derives from MacDonald's own Celtic tradition of the "Second Sight". It is a daydream, but one which holds up a mirror to human nature and shows us the truth of ourselves, as well as being a work of art in itself.