The Phoenix and the Carpet cover

The Phoenix and the Carpet

Edith Nesbit (1858-1924)

1. 01 – The Egg
2. 02 – The Topless Tower
3. 03 – The Queen Cook
4. 04 – Two Bazaars
5. 05 – The Temple
6. 06 – Doing Good
7. 07 – Mews from Persia
8. 08 – The Cats, The Cow, and the Burglar
9. 09 – The Burglar’s Bride
10. 10 – The Hole in the Carpet
11. 11 – The Beginning of the End
12. 12 – The End of the End

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


The Phoenix and the Carpet is a fantasy novel for children, written in 1904 by E. Nesbit. It is the second in a trilogy of novels that began with Five Children and It (1902), and follows the adventures of the same five protagonists – Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and the Lamb. Their mother buys the children a new carpet to replace the one from the nursery that was destroyed in an unfortunate fire accident. Through a series of exciting events, the children find an egg in the carpet which cracks into a talking Phoenix. The Phoenix explains that the carpet is a magical one that will grant them three wishes per day.