The Fairyland of Science cover

The Fairyland of Science

Arabella Buckley (1840-1929)

1. Lecture 01 – The Fairyland of Science: How to Enter It; How to Use It; and How to Enjoy It
2. Lecture 02 – Sunbeams and the Work They Do
3. Lecture 03 – The Aerial Ocean In Which We Live
4. Lecture 04 – A Drop of Water On Its Travels
5. Lecture 05 – The Two Great Sculptors – Water and Ice
6. Lecture 06 – The Voices of Nature and How We Hear Them
7. Lecture 07 – The Life of a Primrose
8. Lecture 08 – The History of a Piece of Coal
9. Lecture 09 – Bees in the Hive
10. Lecture 10 – Bees and Flowers

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



“I have promised to introduce you today to the fairy-land of science — a somewhat bold promise, seeing that most of you probably look upon science as a bundle of dry facts, while fairy-land is all that is beautiful, and full of poetry and imagination. But I thoroughly believe myself, and hope to prove to you, that science is full of beautiful pictures, of real poetry, and of wonder-working fairies…” (From the Introduction to The Fairyland of Science)