The Enchiridion cover

The Enchiridion

Saint Augustine of Hippo (354-430)

1. Chapters 1-17
2. Chapters 18-33
3. Chapters 34-53
4. Chapters 54-72
5. Chapters 73-92
6. Chapters 93-110
7. Chapters 111-122

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



The Enchiridion, Manual, or Handbook of Augustine of Hippo is alternatively titled, “Faith, Hope, and Love”. The Enchiridion is a compact treatise on Christian piety, written in response to a request by an otherwise unknown person, named Laurentis, shortly after the death of Saint Jerome in 420. It is intended as a model for Christian instruction or catechesis. – As the title indicates, the work is organized according to the three graces necessary for the Christian worship of God: Faith, Hope and Love. Under Faith, Augustine explains the use of the Apostles’ Creed, in teaching Christian doctrine and in refuting heresies. Under Hope, he briefly explains the Lord’s Prayer as a model of Christian prayer. The final part is a discourse on Christian love.