Burning Secret cover

Burning Secret

Stefan Zweig (1881-1942)

1. I The Partner
2. II Quick Friendship
3. III The Trio
4. IV The Attack
5. V The Elephants
6. VI Skirmishing
7. VII The Burning Secret
8. VIII Silent Hostility
9. IX The Liars
10. X On the Trail
11. XI The Surprise Attack
12. XII The Tempest
13. XIII Dawning Perception
14. XIV Darkness and Confusion
15. XV The Last Dream

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



A lonely, convalescing 12 year-old boy and his attractive mother, who is in a loveless marriage, meet a gentleman while vacationing at a European resort. Seeking an enjoyable way to pass the time, the man schemes to seduce the woman with the unwitting help of the boy. The son, puzzled by the developing relationship, becomes increasingly isolated and suspicious as he loses his childish innocence in this gripping coming-of-age novella. This work is translated from the original German, Brennendes Geheimnis, which has also been recorded for Librivox. Stefan Zweig was one of the world's most acclaimed writers during the 1920s and 1930s. He produced novels, plays, biographies and journals. He and his second wife committed suicide in 1942. (Lee Smalley)