Ascent of Mount St. Elias, Alaska cover

Ascent of Mount St. Elias, Alaska

Filippo De Filippi (1869-1938)

1. Preface
2. From Turin to Seattle
3. From Seattle to Juneau — The Alexander Archipelago and Alaska
4. From Juneau to Yakutat — The Muir Glacier, Sitka, and the Coast Range
5. The History of Mount St. Elias
6. The Malaspina Glacier
7. Seward Glacier, Dome Pass, and Agassiz Glacier
8. Newton Glacier
9. The Ascent of Mount St. Elias
10. Return from Mount St. Elias to Yakutat
11. Back to Europe — From Yakutat to London

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



Although Mount St. Elias had been known to native Americans for thousands of years and to Europeans since 1741 when Vitus Bering saw the peak and gave it its current name, it was not successfully climbed until 1897 by a party lead by Prince Luigi Amadeo di Savoia, Duke of the Abruzzi. This is the story of that expedition. Mount St. Elias was not climbed again for another 50 years when the advent of air support made the logistics of the climb less daunting.