Stories from the Faerie Queen cover

Stories from the Faerie Queen

Edmund Spenser (1552-1599)

1. Chapter 1 - Una and the Lion
2. Chapter 2 - St. George and the Dragon
3. Chapter 3 - Britomart and the Magic Mirror
4. Chapter 4 - The Quest of Sir Guyon
5. Chapter 5 - Pastorella
6. Chapter 6 - Cambell and Triamond
7. Chapter 7 - Marinell, the Sea-Nymph's Son
8. Chapter 8 - Florimell and the Witch

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


A major work by Spenser, The Faerie Queen, was published between 1590 and 1596. As an allegorical work, it can be read on many levels. According to Jeanie Lang, Spenser always looked for the beautiful and the good when he wrote. Lang said, "There are many stories in The Faerie Queen, and out of these all I have told you only eight." The eight are "Una and the Lion," "St. Gergoe and the Dragon," "Britomart and the Magic Mirror," "The Quest of Sir Gregory," "Pastorella," "Cambell and Triamond," "Marinell the Sea-Nymph's Son," and "Flormell and the Witch."