Some Experiences of an Irish R.M. cover

Some Experiences of an Irish R.M.

Edith Œnone Somerville (1858-1949)

1. 01 Great-Uncle McCarthy
2. 02 In the Curranhilty Country
3. 03 Trinket’s Colt
4. 04 The Waters of Strife
5. 05 Lisheen Races, Second Hand
6. 06 Philippa’s Fox-Hunt
7. 07 A Misdeal
8. 08 The Holy Island
9. 09 The Policy of the Closed Door
10. 10 The House of Fahy
11. 11 Occasional Licenses
12. 12 Oh Love! Oh Fire!

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


This is the first of three novels which Edith Somerville and her cousin Violet Martin wrote about the English Major Sinclair Yates who leaves the army to take up a position of Resident Magistrate in the West of Ireland in about 1895. The tales tell in a humorous way of his struggles with a new job, new culture, and with his landlord and neighbour Mr. ‘Flurry’ Knox whose prime, if not only, interest is in hunting, which forms the background to all the stories. Miss Somerville was herself the first woman anywhere to become an M.F.H.


Amusing stories read by a very accomplished reader.