Short Poetry Collection 142 cover

#1 - The Aloe

Short Poetry Collection 142

Download The House That Jack Built audio
Download How the Leaves Came Down audio
Download Sonnet II from Four Sonnets (I think I should have loved you presently) audio
Download A Joyful Meditation of the Coronation of King Henry the Eighth audio
Download Rules and Regulations audio
Download The Sea and the Skylark audio
Download Smokey the Bear Sutra audio
Download The Starlight Night audio
Download Untitled (I had been hungry all the years) audio
(*) will continuously save your listening progress. Bookmark, return to this page and continue where you left off.

Genre (s)

Author (s)


This is a collection of 23 poems read by LibriVox volunteers for March 2015.

Two poems of medium length in this collection:

#04 "Copernicus" (13:38) is from the volume "Watchers of the Sky" by Alfred Noyes.

#12 "A Joyful Meditation of the Coronation of King Henry the Eighth" (14:12). The original text was published as an eight-page pamphlet. In the surviving copy, the bottoms of the pages have been cropped. A total of three lines are therefore missing, and a further three have been reconstructed from their surviving portions. The html version of the poem shows these reconstructions. This poem has been read using modern English pronunciation. Some words have no modern equivalent, including such words as encensing, entenderment, soote, boote, withouten, inuentions, contrarious, and minnish which is short for dimminish.
Emyspery = hemisphere.
Quayre (quire) = an eight-page printed booklet.
Tene = harm, injury or hurt.
Rother = rudder
The "monk of bery" was John Lydgate of Bury St. Edmunds (c. 1370 - c. 1451) a monk and poet.

You are listening Short Poetry Collection 142 audio by Various.
Dont forget to share if you like it.
If there is a problem or copyright issue. Let us know by sending the link of this page to email:

Related audiobooks

Please support us in maintaining the website by sharing it with your friends