Puck of Pook's Hill (version 2) cover

Puck of Pook's Hill (version 2)

Rudyard Kipling (1868-1936)

1. Weland's Sword
2. Young Men at the Manor
3. The Knights of the Joyous Venture
4. Old Men at Pevensey
5. A Centurion of the Thirtieth
6. On the Great Wall
7. The Winged Hats
8. Hal o' the Draft
9. 'Dymchurch Flit'
10. The Treasure and the Law

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    'Puck of Pook's Hill' is a fantasy book by Rudyard Kipling, published in 1906, containing a series of short stories set in different periods of English history. It can count both as historical fantasy – since some of the stories told of the past have clear magical elements, and as contemporary fantasy – since it depicts a magical being active and practising his magic in the England of the early 1900s when the book was written.The stories are all narrated to two children living near Burwash, in the area of Kipling's own house Bateman's, by people magically plucked out of history by the elf Puck, or told by Puck himself. (Puck, who refers to himself as "the oldest Old Thing in England", is better known as a character in William Shakespeare's play A Midsummer Night's Dream.) The genres of particular stories range from authentic historical novella (A Centurion of the Thirtieth, On the Great Wall) to children's fantasy (Dymchurch Flit). Each story is bracketed by a poem which relates in some manner to the theme or subject of the story.