Old Mother West Wind cover

Old Mother West Wind

Thornton W. Burgess

1. 1 – Chapters 1-3
2. 2 – Chapters 4-5
3. 3 – Chapters 6-8
4. 4 – Chapters 9-11
5. 5 – Chapters 12-14
6. 6 – Chapters 15-16

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Thornton Waldo Burgess (January 14, 1874 – June 5, 1965) was a conservationist and author of children’s stories. He loved the beauty of nature and its living creatures so much that he wrote about them for 50 years. By the time he retired, he had written more than 170 books. Many of his outdoor observations in nature were used as plots for his stories. In his first book, “Old Mother West Wind,” published in 1910, the reader meets many of the characters found in later books and stories. These characters include Peter Rabbit, Jimmy Skunk, Sammy Jay, Bobby Raccoon, Joe Otter, Grandfather Frog, Billy Mink, Jerry Muskrat, Spotty the Turtle and of course, Old Mother West Wind and her Merry Little Breezes. Note to parents of very small children: in Chapter 15, little Tommy Trout gets eaten by a pickerel.



These are the wonderful stories I grew up on. They tell so many things about the habits of animals and have morals to their stories. They are a delight. Very well read.