Niels Klim's Journey Under the Ground cover

Niels Klim's Journey Under the Ground

Baron Ludvig Holberg (1684-1754)

1. 01 -Introduction and Apologetic Preface
2. 02 -Chapter I – The Author’s Descent to the Abyss
3. 03 -Chapter II – The Author’s Arrival at the Planet Nazar
4. 04 -Chapter III – Description of the Town Keba
5. 05 -Chapter IV – The Royal Court of Potu
6. 06 -Chapter V – The Kingdom of Potu and Its Inhabitants
7. 07 -Chapter VI – The Religion of the Potuans
8. 08 -Chapter VII – The Potuan Constitution
9. 09 – Chapter VIII – The Academies of Potu
10. 10 -Chapter IX – The Journey Around the Planet Nazar
11. 11 -Chapter X – The Voyage to the Firmament
12. 12 -Chapter XI – The Voyage to the Land-of-Wonders
13. 13 -Chapter XII – The Author’s Arrival in Quama
14. 14 -Chapter XIII – The Beginning of the Fifth Monarchy
15. 15 -Chapter XIV – The Author Becomes a Monarch Under The Ground
16. 16 -Chapter XV – A Sudden Change in the Fortunes of the Author
17. 17 -Chapter XVI – The Author’s Return to His Father-Land, and the End of the Fifth Monarchy

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Niels Klim’s Underground Travels, originally published in Latin as “Nicolai Klimii Iter Subterraneum” (1741) is a satirical science-fiction/fantasy novel written by Ludvig Holberg, a Norwegian-Danish dramatist, historian, and essayist, born in Bergen, Norway. It was his first and only novel. It describes a utopian society from an outsider’s point of view, and often pokes fun at diverse cultural and social topics such as moral, science, sexual equality, religion, governments, and philosophy.