Love and Freindship, and Other Early Works cover

Love and Freindship, and Other Early Works

Jane Austen (1775-1817)

1. Preface by G. K. Chesterton
2. Love and Freindship - Letters 1 to 9
3. Love and Freindship - Letters 10 to 13
4. Love and Freindship - Letters 14 and 15
5. Lesley Castle - Letters 1 to 3
6. Lesley Castle - Letters 4 to 6
7. Lesley Castle - Letters 7 to 10
8. The History of England
9. Collection of Letters - Letters 1 to 3
10. Collection of Letters - Letters 4 and 5
11. Scraps

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


This book draws together some of Jane Austen's earliest literary efforts. It includes "Love & Freindship" and "Lesley Castle" both told through the medium of letters written by the characters. It also contains her wonderful "History of England" and a "Collection of Letters" and lastly a chapter containing "Scraps". In these offerings, we may see the beginnings of Miss Austen's literary style. We may also discern traces of characters that we encounter in her later works. G. K. Chesterton in his preface, for example, says of a passage in Love and Freindship; "... is there not the foreshadowing of another and more famous father; and do we not hear for a moment, in the rustic cottage by the Uske, the unmistakable voice of Mr. Bennet?" These works are certainly worth exploring for their own sakes and not simply as historical relics.