In The Days of Giants cover

In The Days of Giants

Abbie Farwell Brown (1871-1927)

1. The Beginning of Things
2. How Odin Lost His Eye
3. Kvasir's Blood
4. The Giant Builder
5. The Magic Apples
6. Skadi's Choice
7. The Dwarf's Gifts
8. Loki's Children
9. The Quest of the Hammer
10. The Giantess Who Would Not
11. Thor's Visit to the Giants
12. Thor's Fishing
13. Thor's Duel
14. In the Giant's House
15. Balder and the Mistletoe
16. The Punishment of Loki

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



This book is made of the stories told by the Northern folk,—the people who live in the land of the midnight sun, where summer is green and pleasant, but winter is a terrible time of cold and gloom; where rocky mountains tower like huge giants, over whose heads the thunder rolls and crashes, and under whose feet are mines of precious metals. Therefore you will find the tales full of giants and dwarfs,—spirits of the cold mountains and dark caverns. You will find the hero to be Thor, with his thunderbolt hammer, who dwells in the happy heaven of Asgard, where All-Father Odin is king, and where Balder the beautiful makes springtime with his smile. In the north countries, winter, cold, and frost are very real and terrible enemies; while spring, sunshine, and warmth are near and dear friends. So the story of the Beginning of Things is a story of cold and heat, of the wicked giants who loved the cold, and of the good Æsir, who basked in pleasant warmth.