Heptameron of the Tales of Margaret, Queen of Navarre, Vol. 2 cover

Heptameron of the Tales of Margaret, Queen of Navarre, Vol. 2

Marguerite of Navarre (1492-1549)

1. First Day, Tale VIII
2. First Day, Tale IX
3. First Day, Tale X, Part 1
4. First Day, Tale X, Part 2
5. First Day, Tale X, Part 3
6. First Day, Tale X, Part 4
7. Second Day, Prologue and Tale XI (A)
8. Second Day, Tale XI (B)
9. Second Day, Tale XII
10. Second Day, Tale XIII
11. Second Day, Tale XIV
12. Second Day, Tale XV, Part 1
13. Second Day, Tale XV, Part 2
14. Second Day, Tale XVI
15. Second Day, Tale XVII
16. Second Day, Tale XVIII
17. Appendix A, Tale VIII, Page 1
18. Appendix B, Tale XI (B), Page 95
19. Appendix C, Tale XII, Page 101
20. Appendix D, Tale XVI, Page 183
21. Appendix E, Tale XVII, Page 195

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    THE HEPTAMERON, first published posthumously in 1558, is divided into seven complete days containing 10 stories each, and an eighth day containing only 2 stories. The stories, many of which deal with love and infidelity, resulted in "accusations of looseness" by critics of the day. The author, Margaret of Navarre (also known as Margaret of Angoulême) became an influential woman in the intellectual and cultural circles of the French Renaissance. From an 1892 essay by the translator George Saintsbury: "In so large a number of stories with so great a variety of subjects, it naturally cannot but be the case that there is a considerable diversity of tone. But that peculiarity at which we have glanced more than once, the combination of voluptuous passion with passionate regret and a mystical devotion, is seldom absent for long together...The question, What is the special virtue of the Heptameron? I have myself little hesitation in answering. There is no book, in prose and of so early a date, which shows to me the characteristic of the time as it influenced the two great literary nations of Europe so distinctly as this book of Margaret of Angoulême…