Hagar of the Pawn-Shop cover

Hagar of the Pawn-Shop

Fergus Hume (1859-1932)

1. The Coming of Hagar
2. The First Customer and the Florentine Dante
3. The Second Customer and the Amber Beads
4. The Third Customer and the Jade Idol
5. The Fourth Customer and the Crucifix
6. The Fifth Customer and the Copper Key
7. The Sixth Customer and the Silver Teapot
8. The Seventh Customer and the Mandarin
9. The Eighth Customer and the Pair of Boots
10. The Ninth Customer and the Casket
11. The Tenth Customer and the Persian Ring
12. The Passing of Hagar

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Hagar Stanley, a beautiful young Gypsy, is driven by sexual harassment to leave her tribe and seek refuge with her uncle Jacob, a miserly London pawnbroker. He dies after teaching Hagar the business, and she takes over running the popshop till the legitimate heir can be traced. In the odd assortment of objects that pass across her counter, Hagar uncovers one mystery after another. Some items are linked to actual crimes, others to iniquitous acts of human deceit and betrayal. Whether investigating independently or alongside the police, Hagar combines her native shrewdness with woman's intuition to help untangle the webs of wickedness she encounters, that justice might prevail in the end. Though the individual mysteries in Hagar of the Pawn-shop may be read separately, they are so arranged by Fergus Hume as to form a linked set, with characters from earlier stories popping up again later on, one as Hagar's love interest and another as her nemesis.



- review

Very well read by the same reader. Stories are of a different hue for this genre but likeable enough.