The Epistles of Ignatius cover

The Epistles of Ignatius

St. Ignatius of Antioch

1. 1 – Ephesians
2. 2 – Magnesians
3. 3 – Trallians
4. 4 – Romans
5. 5 – Philadelphians
6. 6 – Smyrnaeans
7. 7 – Polycarp

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Ignatius of Antioch penned these letters to churches (Ephesians, Magnesians, Trallians, Romans, Philadelphians, and Smyrnaeans) and Polycarp on his way to martyrdom. Ignatius was an apologist for the Episcopal style of church government (as opposed to sole rule by a council of presbyters) which developed in the late first or early second century. Eager to die in imitation of his Savior, it was Ignatius who wrote this to the Roman church: “I am God’s wheat, and I am ground by the teeth of wild beasts that I may be found pure bread [of Christ].”