Dubliners (Version 2) cover

Dubliners (Version 2)

James Joyce (1882-1941)

1. The Sisters
2. An Encounter
3. Araby
4. Eveline
5. After The Race
6. Two Gallants
7. The Boarding House
8. A Little Cloud
9. Counterparts
10. Clay
11. A Painful Case
12. Ivy Day In The Committee Room
13. A Mother
14. Grace
15. The Dead, Part one
16. The Dead, Part two

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    Dubliners is a collection of 15 short stories by James Joyce, first published in 1914. They form a naturalistic depiction of Irish middle class life in and around Dublin in the early years of the 20th century. The stories were written when Irish nationalism was at its peak and a search for a national identity and purpose was raging; at a crossroads of history and culture, Ireland was jolted by various converging ideas and influences. They centre on Joyce's idea of an epiphany: a moment where a character experiences self-understanding or illumination. Many of the characters in Dubliners later appear in minor roles in Joyce's novel Ulysses. The initial stories in the collection are narrated by child protagonists, and as the stories continue, they deal with the lives and concerns of progressively older people. This is in line with Joyce's tripartite division of the collection into childhood, adolescence, and maturity.



    A book of short stories which weren't very interesting to me.

    descriptive little tale, brilliantly read as usual by Elizabeth


    - The Dead WORLD Lit II

    This has a ending no one would see coming. Wonderful book!