Dawn O'Hara, The Girl Who Laughed cover

Dawn O'Hara, The Girl Who Laughed

Edna Ferber (1885-1968)

1. 01 – The Smash-Up
2. 02 – Mostly Eggs
3. 03 – Good As New
4. 04 – Dawn Develops A Heimweh
5. 05 – The Absurd Becomes Serious
6. 06 – Steeped In German
7. 07 – Blackie’s Philosophy
8. 08 – Kaffee And Kaffeekuchen
9. 09 – The Lady From Vienna
10. 10 – A Tragedy Of Gowns
11. 11 – Von Gerhard Speaks
12. 12 – Bennie The Consoler
13. 13 – The Test
14. 14 – Bennie And The Charming Old Maid
15. 15 – Farewell To Knapfs’
16. 16 – June Moonlight, And A New Boarding House
17. 17 – The Shadow Of Terror
18. 18 – Peter Orme
19. 19 – A Turn Of The Wheel
20. 20 – Blackie’s Vacation Comes
21. 21 – Happiness

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Dawn O’Hara, the Girl Who Laughed was Edna Ferber’s first novel. Dawn, a newspaperwoman working in New York, finds herself back home in Michigan on doctor’s orders. Years of living in boarding-houses and working to pay for the care of her brilliant but mentally ill husband, Peter Orme, have taken their toll. At twenty-eight, Dawn feels like an old woman with no future. But, the loving care of her sister Norah and her family along with the attentions of the handsome German doctor, Ernst Von Gerhard, slowly bring Dawn back to life. With Dr. Von Gerhard’s help, she obtains a newspaper job in Milwaukee and begins a year of new adventures among new people. However, the specter of her husband living in a mental hospital is always present and Dawn fears she may never be free to love again.



A good reader with no distressing accents.


- good read

Reader was rather bland, but have definitely heard worse. The usual Edna Ferber novel, but still interesting enough to listen to the end.