Brazilian Tales cover

Brazilian Tales


1. 0 – Preface
2. 1 – The Attendant’s Confession
3. 2 – The Fortune Teller
4. 3 – Life
5. 4 – The Vengeance of Felix
6. 5 – The Pigeons
7. 6 – Aunt Zeze’s Tears

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


“Brazilian Tales” is a collection of six short stories selected by Isaac Goldberg as best representative of the Brazilian Literature of his period – the end of the 19th century. His comprehensive preface aims at familiarizing the reader with a literature that was – and still is – virtually unknown outside the boundaries of its own land, and the pieces chosen by Goldberg to be translated belong to writers that reached popularity and appreciation while still alive. This “pioneer volume”, as the translator himself puts it, still keeps its charm and interest as a way of offering to the English speaking public some “sample cases” of Brazilian Literature.