After London, or Wild England cover

After London, or Wild England

Richard Jefferies (1848-1887)

1. 01 – Part I, Chapter 1: The Great Forest
2. 02 – Part I, Chapter 2: Wild Animals
3. 03 – Part I, Chapter 3: Men of the Woods
4. 04 – Part I, Chapter 4: The Invaders
5. 05 – Part I, Chapter 5: The Lake
6. 06 – Part II, Chapter 1: Sir Felix
7. 07 – Part II, Chapter 2: The House of Aquila
8. 08 – Part II, Chapter 3: The Stockade
9. 09 – Part II, Chapter 4: The Canoe
10. 10 – Part II, Chapter 5: Baron Aquila
11. 11 – Part II, Chapter 6: The Forest Track
12. 12 – Part II, Chapter 7: The Forest Track continued
13. 13 – Part II, Chapter 8: Thyma Castle
14. 14 – Part II, Chapter 9: Superstitions
15. 15 – Part II, Chapter 10: The Feast
16. 16 – Part II, Chapter 11: Aurora
17. 17 – Part II, Chapter 12: Night in the Forest
18. 18 – Part II, Chapter 13: Sailing Away
19. 19 – Part II, Chapter 14: The Straits
20. 20 – Part II, Chapter 15: Sailing Onwards
21. 21 – Part II, Chapter 16: The City
22. 22 – Part II, Chapter 17: The Camp
23. 23 – Part II, Chapter 18: The King’s Levy
24. 24 – Part II, Chapter 19: Fighting
25. 25 – Part II, Chapter 20: In Danger
26. 26 – Part II, Chapter 21: A Voyage
27. 27 – Part II, Chapter 22: Discoveries
28. 28 – Part II, Chapter 23: Strange Things
29. 29 – Part II, Chapter 24: Fiery Vapours
30. 30 – Part II, Chapter 25: The Shepherds
31. 31 – Part II, Chapter 26: Bow and Arrow
32. 32 – Part II, Chapter 27: Surprised
33. 33 – Part II, Chapter 28: For Aurora

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


First published in 1885, After London, or Wild England is considered to be one of the earliest instances of post-apocalyptic fiction, describing the effects of an unspecified catastrophe that dramatically changes the face of England and its population. Divided into two parts, the first depicts the fall of civilization, as society reverts to its more primitive roots, while the second part is set years after the apocalyptic event and examines the evident changes in both natural scenery and social structure. In addition, Jefferies offers a remarkable portrait of the natural world with his colorful imagery and evocative descriptions, which highlight his enthusiasm and devotion to nature. The first part of the novel begins with Jefferies’ description of a mysterious natural disaster that has taken its toll on England, and later goes on to provide a detailed account of the resurgence of nature in the aftermath of the dire calamity. Although the source of the disaster is not clearly distinguished, its effects on society and nature are immense, as the area has been substantially depopulated and engulfed by a newly formed lake. Slowly covering any traces of the industrial world, the land welcomes the return of wildlife to its unspoiled state, as trees, flowers, and plants begin to take over the area, while animals return to their feral states. Furthermore, the society that has remained reverts to its medieval roots, divided into tribal groups and a somewhat educated class. Subsequently, the novel shifts its focus to Felix Aquila, a dignified young man who sets out on a dangerous adventure, exploring the mystifying wilderness. In addition, Felix must face numerous predicaments along the way that test his durability and fortitude. Presenting a unique take on a post-apocalyptic world, with a generous supply of botanical detail, After London, or Wild England served as an inspiration for many writers to follow in Jefferies’ footsteps and make a contribution to the post-apocalyptic genre. Interestingly, Jefferies effectively employs nature as the dominant feature in the novel, emphasizing its presence and influence in an altered landscape. Painting a vivid illustration of unspoiled nature and illustrating the gripping notion of natural reversion and the downfall of civilization, the novel is a sure to enthrall nature enthusiasts.