Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes cover

Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes

Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894)

1. A Mountain Town in France
2. The Donkey, the Pack and the Pack-Saddle
3. The Green Donkey-Driver
4. I Have a Goad
5. A Camp in the Dark
6. Cheylard and Luc
7. Father Apollinaris
8. The Monks
9. The Boarders
10. Across the Goulet
11. A Night Among the Pines
12. Across the Lozère
13. Pont de Montvert
14. In the Valley of the Tarn
15. Florac
16. In the Valley of the Mimente
17. The Heart of the Country
18. The Last Day
19. Farewell Modestine!

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


A classic of travel writing, this book recounts Stevenson's adventures on an extended walk through uplands and mountains in south-western France. Humorous on his own failings as a traveller, and on his travails with Modestine the self-willed donkey, it is also an exploration of peasant life in an area marked by the violence of the wars of religion. This version includes the fragment "A mountain town in France", originally intended as the opening chapter, but often omitted and published as a separate essay.