Wilderness Ways cover

Wilderness Ways

William Joseph Long (1867-1952)

1. Preface
2. Megaleep the Wanderer, Part 1
3. Megaleep the Wanderer, Part 2
4. Killooleet, Little Sweet-Voice
5. Kagax the Bloodthirsty
6. Kookooskoos, Who Catches the Wrong Rat
7. Chigwooltz the Frog
8. Cloud Wings the Eagle
9. Upweekis the Shadow, Part 1
10. Upweekis the Shadow, Part 2
11. Hukweem the Night Voice, Part 1
12. Hukweem the Night Voice, Part 2

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



Late nineteenth-century naturalist William J. Long invites us into the secret worlds of woodland animals in this, his second, fascinating book. Long's stories of the secret lives of woodland animals come from time he spent in the woods, observing the behaviors and characteristics of the wilderness inhabitants directly. His method? Sit quietly, wait (sometimes for hours), and the animals will come. This book, unlike his first, Ways of Wood Folk, seems to be directed at his critics who accused him of assigning human emotions and intentions to the animals he profiles in his writings; Wilderness Ways very deliberately tells the unvarnished truth about animal behaviors, both tender caring and vicious murder are illustrated herein. Wilderness Ways opens up the hidden world of its woodland subjects with beautiful imagery and descriptive prose which is accessible enough for a child to read while at the same time engaging for readers of all ages. Be transported into Long's hidden wilderness world.