Uncle Remus Returns cover

Uncle Remus Returns

Joel Chandler Harris (1845-1908)

1. 00 - Preface
2. 01 - Brother Rabbit's Bear Hunt
3. 02 - Impty-Umpty and the Blacksmith
4. 03 -Taily-Po
5. 04 - Brother Rabbit, Brother Fox and Two Fat Pullets
6. 05 - Brother Fox's Family Troubles
7. 06 - The Most Beautiful Bird
8. 07 - Uncle Remus Falls Victim to the Mumps
9. 08 - Uncle Remus's Views on Church Collections
10. 09 - Uncle Remus's Political Theories
11. 10 - Uncle Discusses the True Inwardness of the Mule
12. 11 - Uncle Remus Talks of Hard Times and "Sunshine Niggers"

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Uncle Remus tells these 11 stories but to the son of the original "little boy" who is visiting his grandmother on the plantation. As always Uncle Remus can be relied upon to provide funny and pointed insight into human personalities through his story telling. These were all published in the Uncle Remus magazine from 1905 and 1906 and gathered together in this book by the author. Note that these stories are reflections of another period in time and some of the language used would definitely be considered rude and/or offensive now. In keeping with the desire to present the text as the author wrote it, nothing has been changed or edited.