That Lass O' Lowrie's 1877 cover

That Lass O' Lowrie's 1877

Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849-1924)

1. A difficult case
2. "Liz"
3. The Reverend Harold Barholm
4. "Love me, love my dog"
5. Outside the hedge
6. Joan and the child
7. Anice at the cottage
8. The wager of battle
9. The news at the rectory
10. On the Knoll Road
11. NIb and his master make a call
12. On guard
13. Joan and the picture
14. The open "Davy"
15. A discovery
16. "Owd Sammy" in trouble
17. The member of parliament
18. A confession of faith
19. Ribbons
20. The new gatekeeper
21. Derrick's question
22. Master Landsell's son
23. "Cannybles"
24. Dan Lowrie's return
25. The old danger
26. The package returned
27. Sammy Craddock's "manny-ensis"
28. Warned
29. Lying in wait
30. The slip of paper
31. The last blow
32. "Turned Methody!"
33. Fate
34. The decision
35. In the pit
36. Alive yet
37. Watching and waiting
38. Recognition
39. A testimonial
40. Going south
41. "A soart o' pollygy"
42. Ashley-wold
43. Liz comes back
44. Not yet

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Frances Hodgson Burnett was born and grew up in Manchester, England, and emigrated to the United States with her family at the age of 16. For her first novels, written in Knoxville, Tennessee and published in New York, she drew upon her knowledge of life and speech of the Lancashire working classes. Set in a Lancashire mining town, That Lass o' Lowries is a gritty, and at times brutal, tale of romance across the classes, which stands in stark contrast to her later work.