Tales of Wonder cover

Tales of Wonder

Lord Dunsany (1878-1957)

1. Preface
2. A Tale of London
3. Thirteen at Table
4. The City of Mallington Moor
5. Why the Milkman Shudders When he Perceives the Dawn
6. The Bad Old Woman in Black
7. The Bird of the Difficult Eye
8. The Long Porter's Tale
9. The Loot of Loma
10. The Secret of the Sea
11. How Ali Came to the Black Country
12. The Bureau d'Echange de Maux
13. The Story of Land and Sea, part 1
14. The Story of Land and Sea, part 2
15. Guarantee to the Reader
16. A Tale of the Equator
17. A Narrow Escape
18. The Watch-Tower
19. How Plash-Goo Came to the Land of None's Desire
20. The Three Sailor's Gambit
21. The Exiles Club
22. The Three Infernal Jokes

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    The Last Book of Wonder, originally published as Tales of Wonder, is the tenth book and sixth original short story collection of Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula K. Le Guin and others. The first edition, in hardcover, was published in London by Elkin Mathews in October 1916 as Tales of Wonder, followed by a Boston hardcover publication in November 1916, by John W. Luce & Co.. The title of the American edition, The Last Book of Wonder, was Dunsany's own preferred title. The British and American editions also differ in that they arrange the material slightly differently.