Sword of Welleran and Other Stories cover

Sword of Welleran and Other Stories

Lord Dunsany (1878-1957)

1. The Sword of Welleran
2. The Fall of Babbulkund
3. The Kith of the Elf Folk, Ch 1
4. The Kith of the Elf Folk, Ch 2
5. The Highwaymen
6. In the Twilight
7. The Ghosts
8. The Whirlpool
9. The Hurricane
10. The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth
11. The Lord of Cities
12. The Doom of La Traviata
13. On the Dry Land

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



    The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories is the third book by Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula K. Le Guin and others. It was first published in hardcover by George Allen & Sons in October, 1908, and has been reprinted a number of times since. Issued by the Modern Library in a combined edition with A Dreamer's Tales as A Dreamer's Tales and Other Stories in 1917. The book is a series of short stories, some of them linked by Dunsany's invented pantheon of deities who dwell in Pegāna, which were the focus of his earlier collections The Gods of Pegāna and Time and the Gods. One of the stories, "The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth," was afterwards (1910) published by itself as a separate book.