Salve Deus Rex Judaeorum cover

Salve Deus Rex Judaeorum

Aemilia Lanyer (1569-1645)

1. 1 - Part 1 (Dedicatory Poems)
2. 2 - Part 2 (To the Virtuous Reader)
3. 3 - Part 3 (The Passion of the Christ)
4. 4 - Part 4 (Eve's Apologie)
5. 5 - Part 5 (To my Lady of Cumberland)
6. 6 - Part 6 (The Description of Cooke-ham)

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



Aemilia Lanyer's 1611 poem is far more than a retelling of The Passion. It comprises a spirited defense of Eve (and, by extension, all women), elegant praises for her female patrons, a catalogue of virtuous women of the ancient world, and closes with the first "country house" poem written by a woman in English.