Pippa Passes cover

Pippa Passes

Robert Browning (1812-1889)

1. 0 – Dramatis Personae
2. 1 – Prologue
3. 2 – Act I
4. 3 – Act II
5. 4 – Act III
6. 5 – Act IV

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


Pippa Passes was a dramatic piece, as much play as poetry, by Robert Browning published in 1841 as the first volume of his Bells and Pomegranates series.The author described the work as the first of a series of dramatic pieces. His original idea was of a young, innocent girl, moving unblemished through the crime-ridden neighbourhoods of Asolo. The work caused outrage when it was first published, due to the matter-of-fact portrayals of many of the area’s more disreputable characters – notably the adulterous Ottima – and for its frankness on sexual matters. Perhaps the most famous passage is below:The year’s at the spring,And day’s at the morn;Morning’s at seven;The hill-side’s dew-pearled;The lark’s on the wing;The snail’s on the thorn;God’s in his Heaven -All’s right with the world!