O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1921 cover

O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1921


1. The Heart of Little Shikara
2. The Man who Cursed the Lilies
3. The Urge
4. Mummery
5. The Victim of His Vision
6. Martin Gerrity Gets Even
7. Stranger Things
8. Comet
9. Fifty-two Weeks for Florette
10. Wild Earth, part 1
11. Wild Earth, part 2
12. The Tribute
13. The Get-away
14. 'Aurore'
15. Mr. Downey Sits Down
16. The Marriage in Kairwan
17. Grit

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



In 1918 the Society of Arts and Sciences established the O. Henry Memorial Awards to reward the very best short stories published during the previous year with cash prizes. 1921 was a particularly productive year with sterling and brilliantly varied examples of the art of short story writing as are included here. The selection committee struggled to agree on these, but finally, here they are for us to enjoy and record. The length varies but most are sufficiently long for a reader to get their teeth into and enjoy. The stories are listed in a rough order of how they were judged, but all are excellent.