Mr. Standfast cover

Mr. Standfast

John Buchan (1875-1940)

1. 01 - The Wicket-Gate
2. 02 - The Village Named Morality
3. 03 - The Reflections of a Cured Dyspeptic
4. 04 - Andrew Amos
5. 05 - Various Doings in the West
6. 06 - The Skirts of the Coolin
7. 07 - I Hear of the Wild Birds
8. 08 - The Adventures of a Bagman
9. 09 - I Take the Wings of a Dove
10. 10 - The Advantages of an Air Raid
11. 11 - The Valley of Humiliation
12. 12 - I Become a Combatant Once More
13. 13 - The Adventure of the Picardy Chateau
14. 14 - Mr. Blenkiron Discourses on Love and War
15. 15 - St. Anton
16. 16 - I Lie on a Hard Bed
17. 17 - The Col of the Swallows
18. 18 - The Underground Railway
19. 19 - The Cage of the Wild Birds
20. 20 - The Storm Breaks in the West
21. 21 - How an Exile Returned to His Own People
22. 22 - The Summons Comes for Mr. Standfast

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.



This is the third of Buchan's Richard Hannay novels, following The Thirty-nine Steps and Greenmantle. Set, like Greenmantle, durinig World War I, it deals Brigadier-General Hannay's recall from the Western Front, to engage in espionage, and forced (much to his chagrin) to pose as a pacifist. He becomes a South African conscientious objector, using the name Cornelius Brand. Under the orders of his spymaster, Sir Walter Bullivant, he travels in the book through England to Scotland, back to the Western Front, and ultimately, for the book's denouement, into the Alps. Those who know Greenmantle will meet some old friends again here, including Bullivant, the American John Blenkiron, the South African Peter Pienaar and others.


Tony Burton

- Great historical fiction!

I know of no finer author of early 20th century war and espionage fiction than Mr. Buchan. I wish I could shake his hand and thank him for all the hours of pleasure he has given me. MR STANDFAST is a prime example.


- Wonderful war story

Vivid portrayal of mystery, spies and war