Marguerite de Valois cover

Marguerite de Valois

Alexandre Dumas (1802-1870)

1. Monsieur de Guise's Latin
2. The Queen of Navarre's Bedchamber
3. The Poet-King
4. The Evening of the 24th of August, 1572
5. Of the Louvre in Particular, and of Virtue in General
6. The Debt Paid
7. The Night of the 24th of August, 1572
8. The Massacre
9. The Murderers
10. Death, Mass, or the Bastille
11. The Hawthorn of the Cemetery of the Innocents
12. Mutual Confidences
13. How There Are Keys Which Open Doors They Are Not Meant For
14. The Second Marriage Night
15. What Woman Wills, God Wills
16. A Dead Enemy's Body Always Smells Sweet
17. Maitre Ambroise Pare's Confrere
18. The Ghosts
19. The Abode of Maitre Rene, Perfumer to the Queen Mother
20. The Black Hens
21. Madame de Sauve's Apartment
22. "Sire, You Shall be King"
23. A New Convert
24. The Rue Tizon and the Rue Cloche Percee
25. The Cherry-Colored Cloak
26. Margarita
27. The Hand of God
28. The Letter from Rome
29. The Departure
30. Maurevel
31. The Hunt
32. Fraternity
33. The Gratitude of King Charles IX
34. Man Proposes But God Disposes
35. A Night of Kings
36. The Anagram
37. The Return to the Louvre
38. The Girdle of the Queen Mother
39. Projects of Revenge
40. The Atrides
41. The Horoscope
42. Confidences
43. The Ambassadors
44. Orestes and Plyades
45. Orthon
46. The Inn of la Belle Etoile
47. De Mouy de Saint Phale
48. Two Heads for One Crown
49. The Treatise on Hunting
50. Hawking
51. The Pavilion of Francois I
52. The Examination
53. Acteon
54. The Forest of Vincennes
55. The Figure of Wax
56. The Invisible Bucklers
57. The Judges
58. The Torture of the Boot
59. The Chapel
60. The Place Saint Jean en Greve
61. The Headsman's Tower
62. The Sweat of Blood
63. The Donjon of the Prison of Vincennes
64. The Regency
65. The King is Dead! Long Love the King!
66. Epilogue

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


A historical fiction novel set in Paris (1572) during Charles IX's reign and the French Wars of Religion. Marguerite de Valois, daughter of deceased Henry II, is the novel's protagonist set against the infamous schemes of the Catholic power player, Catherine de Medici.