Living Alone cover

Living Alone

Stella Benson (1892-1933)

1. 01 - Magic Comes to a Committee
2. 02 - The Committee Comes to Magic
3. 03 - The Everlasting Boy
4. 04 - The Forbidden Sandwich
5. 05 - An Air Raid Seen From Below
6. 06 - An Air Raid Seen From Above
7. 07 - The Faery Farm
8. 08 - The Regrettable Wednesday
9. 09 - The House of Living Alone Moves Away
10. 10 - The Dweller Alone

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


This is not a real book. It does not deal with real people, nor should it be read by real people. But there are in the world so many real books already written for the benefit of real people, and there are still so many to be written, that I cannot believe that a little alien book such as this, written for the magically-inclined minority, can be considered too assertive a trespasser. -- Stella Benson (author) Published in 1919, and set in London during the First World War, Living Alone tells of the meeting of a recluse and a witch, then rambles through magic, morality and aerial dogfights on broomsticks. There isn't too much in the way of a plot, but with its curious blend of fantasy and practical detail of a country in war-time, it's a charmingly weird novel that I hope will entertain witches, wizards and muggles alike. -- Cori Samuel (narrator)