Island Nights' Entertainments cover

Island Nights' Entertainments

Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894)

1. The Beach of Falesa. Chapter One - A south sea bridal.
2. The Beach of Falesa. Chapter Two - The Ban.
3. The Beach of Falesa. Chapter Three - The Missionary.
4. The Beach of Falesa. Chapter Four - Devil-work.
5. The Beach of Falesa. Chapter Five - Night in the bush.
6. The Bottle Imp - Part One
7. The Bottle Imp - Part Two
8. The Isle of Voices

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


A marvelous depiction of two sides of South Sea Islands' life through three separate tales. One, the experience of the incoming British keen to live free and exploit the innocent; the other the supernatural as perceived by Stevenson working in the lives of the natives. One tale carries the germ of the story of Madame Butterfly, since become a part of Western culture. Another is an extraordinary retelling of a German horror story transposed to a South Sea Island setting. The last is an effort of the pure Stevensonian imagination and there can be nothing better.