The Idiot cover

The Idiot

John Kendrick Bangs (1862-1922)

1. 1 - The Idiot (Chapters 1 - 4)
2. 2 - The Idiot (Chapters 5 - 9)
3. 3 - The Idiot (Chapters 10 - 12)

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


The Idiot is anything but, yet his fellow boarders at Mrs. Smithers-Pedagog’s home for single gentlemen see him as such. His brand of creative thought is dismissed as foolishness yet it continues to get under their skin, because when you’re beneath contempt you can say what you please. – This is the first of John Kendrick Bangs' “Idiot” books and was published by Harper and Brothers in 1895.