The History of Standard Oil: Volume 2 cover

The History of Standard Oil: Volume 2

Ida M. Tarbell (1857-1944)

1. 01 - Chapter 9, The Fight For The Seaboard Pipeline
2. 02 - Chapter 10, Part One, Cutting To Kill
3. 03 - Chapter 10, Part Two, Cutting To Kill
4. 04 - Chapter 11, The War On The Rebate
5. 05 - Chapter 12, The Buffalo Case
6. 06 - Chapter 13, The Standard Oil Company and Politics
7. 07 - Chapter 14. The Breaking Up Of The Trust
8. 08 - Chapter 15. Part One, A Modern War For Independence
9. 09 - Chapter 15. Part Two, A Modern War For Independence
10. 10 - Chapter 16, Part One, The Price of Oil
11. 11 - Chapter 16, Part Two, The Price of Oil
12. 12 - Chapter 17, The Legitmate Greatness of the Standard Oil Company
13. 13 - Chapter 18, Conclusion

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


The History of the Standard Oil Company is a book written by journalist Ida Tarbell in 1904. It was an exposé of the Standard Oil Company, run at that time by oil tycoon John D. Rockefeller, the richest figure in America's history. Originally serialized in 19 parts in McClure's magazine, the book was a seminal example of muckraking, and inspired many other journalists to write about trusts, large businesses that (in the absence of strong antitrust law in the 19th century) attempted to gain monopolies in various industries. The History of the Standard Oil Company was credited with hastening the breakup of Standard Oil, which came about in 1911.


Joe Santangelo

- A course on Standard Oil

This (and the other volume) could be a full semester course. Great detail on every aspect of most every move that the company made. Multiple readers were an interesting mix.