David Crockett: His Life and Adventures cover

David Crockett: His Life and Adventures

John S. C. Abbott (1805-1877)

1. 01 - Parentage and Childhood
2. 02 - Youthful Adventures
3. 03 - Marriage and Settlement
4. 04 - The Soldier Life
5. 05 - Indian Warfare
6. 06 - The Camp and the Cabin
7. 07 - The Justice of Peace and the Legislator
8. 08 - Life on the Obion
9. 09 - Adventures in the Forest, on the River, and in the City
10. 10 - Crockett's Tour to the North and the East
11. 11 - The Disappointed Politician.--Off for Texas
12. 12 - Adventures on the Prairie
13. 13 - Conclusion

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


David "Davy" Crockett (August 17, 1786 – March 6, 1836) was a celebrated 19th century American folk hero, frontiersman, soldier and politician. He is commonly referred to in popular culture by the epithet “King of the Wild Frontier.” He represented Tennessee in the U.S. House of Representatives, served in the Texas Revolution, and died at the Battle of the Alamo. This narrative attempts faithfully to record the influences under which David Crockett was reared and the incidents of his wild and wondrous life. It begins with his ancestors' immigration to the American wilderness, his adventures among the Indians, his political career in Tennessee and beyond, and ending with his heroic stand at the Alamo.



Great book, very informative and moves along nicely, learned a lot.