Clog Shop Chronicles cover

Clog Shop Chronicles

John Ackworth (1854-1917)

1. 01 - An atonement
2. 02 - Billy Botch
3. 03 - Hanging his hat up
4. 04 - Giving a man away
5. 05 - Tatty Entwhistle's return
6. 06 - Coals of fire
7. 07 - The knocker up
8. 08 - For better or worse: The dilemma
9. 09 - For better or worse: The denouement
10. 10 - 'Bullet' pie
11. 11 - A diplomatic reverse
12. 12 - Vaulting ambition: 1 The o'erleaping
13. 13 - Vaulting ambition: 2 Alighting
14. 14 - Zeal of thine house: 1 'When Greek meets Greek'
15. 15 - Zeal of thine house: 2 'To be, or not to be'
16. 16 - Zeal of thine house: 3 'Of his necessity'
17. 17 - Zeal of thine house: 4 Raising the wind
18. 18 - Zeal of thine house: 5 At last!

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


John Ackworth was the pen name of the Rev. Frederick R. Smith, a Methodist minister who was born in Snaith, Yorkshire, but spent much of his career as a circuit preacher in Lancashire. Clog Shop Chronicles was the first and most successful of his works. Set in the fictional 19th-century village of Beckside (said to be somewhere between Manchester and Bolton), the book consists of 12 tales of everyday life in a close-knit Methodist community, which continue into Beckside Lights (1897) and Doxy Dent (1899). Based on an entertaining group of characters who gather round the clog shop fire, the stories are sentimental at times, but Ackworth has a nice sense of irony and refrains from Methodist proselytizing. Ackworth was also a student of the Lancashire dialect and the spoken passages in his books are mostly written in a phonetic version of late 19th-century Bolton speech, which I have done my best to reproduce.