Inland Voyage cover

Inland Voyage

Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894)

1. Preface
2. Antwerp to Boom
3. The Willebroek Canal
4. The Royal Sport Nautique
5. At Mauberge
6. On The Sambre Canalised
7. Pont-Sur-Sambre -- We Are Pedlars
8. Pont-Sur-Sambre -- The Travelling Merchant
9. On The Sambre Canalised To Landrecies
10. At Landrecies
11. Sambre And Oise Canal -- Canal Boats
12. The Oise In Flood
13. Origny Sainte-Benoite -- A By-Day
14. Origny Sainte-Benoite -- The Company At Table
15. Down The Oise To Moy
16. La Fere Of Cursed Memory
17. Down The Oise Through The Golden Valley
18. Noyon Cathedral
19. Down The Oise To Compiegne
20. At Compiegne
21. Changed Times
22. Down The Oise: Church Interiors
23. Precy And The Marionnettes
24. Back To The World

(*) Your listen progress will be continuously saved. Just bookmark and come back to this page and continue where you left off.


As a young man, Stevenson wished to be financially independent and began his literary career by writing travelogues. This is his first published work, written at a time when travel for pleasure was still a rarity. He and a friend traveled by canoe through France and Belgium and he relates how they were thrown in jail, mistaken for traveling salesmen and became embroiled in gypsy life.